Eligibility Requirements for Police Officers

Requirements


  • Must be a U.S. Citizen
  • Must be 21 Years of age
  • Must be a high school graduate or have an equivalency
  • Must have a steady/reliable work history
  • Must have or be able to obtain a valid South Carolina Driver’s License
  • Must not have any driver’s license suspensions during the last 5 years for Driving Under the Influence (DUI), leaving the scene of an accident, reckless homicide, or involuntary manslaughter
  • Must not have a record of a felony or criminal domestic violence
  • Must not have a record of a crime of moral turpitude or a misdemeanor carrying a possible sentence of more than 1 year
  • Must not have defaulted on a student loan
  • Must have a good credit history
  • Must have an honorable discharge from the U.S. military, if applicable
  • Must pass a background investigation to include a clear criminal record
  • Must pass pre-employment screenings (drug test, vision, hearing, psychological exam, polygraph, stress, and pulmonary function tests)

Training


Once employed as a Police Officer in Training, you will attend the South Carolina Criminal Justice Academy in Columbia for 12 weeks. Certified Officers from other states and Military Police may qualify for a 6-week legal portion or a challenge test.

The Field Training Program (FTO) is 600 hours. This may be shortened to compensate for prior experience. The probationary period is typically 1 year.